Promoting historic preservation since 1975

Sacramento Heritage, Inc. was incorporated by the City of Sacramento in 1975 as a 501(c)3 not-for-profit corporation governed by a nine-member volunteer board of directors appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council.  The board includes representatives from the City’s Preservation Commission, Planning Commission, Housing Code Advisory and Appeals Board, and the Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Commission, in addition to at-large members with expertise in preservation, history, housing, construction and finance.  For the current Board, please see the Directors link. Sacramento Heritage, Inc. is more commonly referred to as "Sac Heritage" or "Sacramento Heritage" and is referred to in the remainder of this website as "Sacramento Heritage."


William Burg, Chair

Jose Esparza, Vice Chair

Melisa Gaudreau, AIA, Treasurer

Phil Pluckebaum

Jackie Whitelam

Kay Worthington

Megan Repka

Cody Strong

William Farrell

Terri Kletzman






Carson Anderson, Executive Director & Executive Staff (

Audreyell Anderson, Deputy City Attorney

Images courtesy of Center for Sacramento History , SHI Board members, Lisa Ouellette and Rudy Calpo Photography.